Be Careful With Amtrak Discount Fares

April 22, 2009

I had to pay 95 cents (the difference between the full fare and the student advantage fare on my ticket) to an Amtrak conductor on the train today because I did not have the Student Advantage card I used when I bought my ticket in my possession.  This was mildly irritating, but would have been much more irritating had the amount of money been more substantial.  I have never had any issues in the past with using my discount.

Those who plan on using NARP, Student Advantage, Military, etc. for discounts should remember to bring the appropriate ID along or risk having to pay more money on the train!

    img007

Leave a Reply

