R.I.P. Harry Kalas

April 14, 2009

Before I became a brother of Kappa Delta Rho fraternity while at Cornell University, I studied the fraternity’s precepts, a set of common-sense guidelines about how one can through his conduct live a virtuous and fulfilling life.

Even though the precepts are specifically tailored to Kappa Delta Rho, they offer some advice that is quite universal:

  • Embrace the principles and spirit of the Kappa Delta Rho Gentleman, treating all those I encounter with dignity and respect;
  • Work diligently in the pursuit of my education, understanding that I am a student first and that the quest for knowledge is an endeavor which will last a lifetime;
  • Meet all of my obligations to the Fraternity in a timely manner, so as to ensure that I am doing my share and that I am not a burden to my brothers;
  • Engage in the service of mankind, not for the praise or recognition that such service may bring, but because it is the right thing to do;
  • Serve as my brothers’ keeper, holding them accountable for their actions as they hold me accountable for mine, and
  • Support my Alma mater, that she may view Kappa Delta Rho as a partner in the development of her students.

Based on my first hand experience listening to Harry Kalas on the radio over the past several years, along with informal on-street discussions with other Philadelphians who had the opportunity to personally meet Mr. Kalas, he appered to be an extremely virtuous, good person.  And Phillies fans and anyone who may have been touched by him in some way will miss him.  All of the children in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware who listened to him on the radio at home or in the car and due to his enthusiasm for the game became interested in learning more about the sport or pursuing it… all of the community organizations that benefited from his volunteer work… anyone who’s understanding of sportsmanship values was strengthened by hearing his accounts of baseball players “doing the right thing” such as paying tribute to members of the Military by removing their hats during the singing of “God Bless America” or shaking hands with opposing teammates after a game.

We won’t forget you!

Go Phillies!

Leave a Reply

